If you think you can, you can. If you think you can’t, you’re right.

This time’s blog entry is short and to the point. This quotation has often been credited to Mary Kay Ash, Norman Vincent Peale and several others too.

The next time you find yourself saying, “I can’t…” pause and reflect upon this quotation. What would it be like to say, “I can…”? No one’s saying the ‘impossible’ is now possible; I still probably won’t land on the Moon, swim the Channel and play football for West Ham! Rather, this is about recognising the auto-responses within us that just might have got used to a ‘can’t’ mindset i.e. “I can’t do that!” or “I can’t possibly win…”,  when we really do want to do it and it probably is within the reach of us if we receive some help and support. (It may be that not feeling safe to start doing whatever it is you want to do is the reason for your ‘I can’t’ response. If that sounds familiar to you contact me and we’ll do something about that together.)

So, that whatever it is that you’ve been putting off to do: it just might be that ‘You can’, you know! When would now be a good time to change your mind?

